PARENTING

Having recently discovered the best blog known to man (Thank you – you’re a lifesaver!), I have begun to appreciate fatherhood more. Nobody really tells you what it’s going to be like. I remember when I first found out that my wife was pregnant… I was so overcome with joy. For some reason though, people feel the need to take that away from you. Middle aged, resentful men take this opportunity to say that “you’re life will never be the same… no more clubbing and late nights”.

Firstly, what sort of middle aged man still goes clubbing? I mean please, act your age. And secondly, if that is how you felt, then maybe you shouldn’t be having a child? Because let’s be honest – if you can’t commit 100%, then you’re not ready. It has nothing to do with how old you are or how wealthy/secure your life is. The only thing that matters is that you are prepared to devote every ounce of your being into shaping and moulding a new little person into something worthwhile. That is our purpose in life, to (as my wife put it) leave this world a better place then it was when we arrived

Of course, parenthood isn’t easy. There is the constant judgement (yes, thank you crazy neighbour upstairs who felt the need to shout at us about our inappropriate parenting technique when our daughter was crying… that was very helpful/constructive of you), the tantrums, the poop… so much poop, and of course the judgement (yes I know I said judgement twice… there really is a lot of it, from family, friends and strangers).

But despite all of this, every second is worth it for that moment when your child looks at you with a huge smile after mastering the skill of jumping, or learning a new word. I would give anything to see her smile – that same smile my wife has, the one that helped me gain the courage to ask her on a date, and eventually get down on one knee, those two smiles light up my world and make a bad day seem like a fading memory.




So to all those no-sayers… you’re missing what is right in front of you.

Leave a comment