GREEN, GREENER, GREENEST

Just enough time for one final thought…

I came across this interesting perspective on an old saying:

“The grass is always greenest where you water it”

…and where people don’t poop on it. Moral; Get rid of the dog.

It’s true though – you only get out of life what you put in to it. Spending your life pining after what others have will only make you waste your life. Their world may appear rosier, but that is likely because they have put in the ground work and continue to upkeep their garden.

For the first time in my life, I can confidently say, I am happy where I am. I don’t look at others with jealousy or desire… Instead I look at myself and think, what/where next! It has by no means been easy, and yes I have had to check off milestones to reach this point. There was of course the usual “If I can just get this one thing then I’ll be happy/everything will be ok”. And to some extent, it is true. I chose an obscenely drawn out career path (Architect: 3 year Bachelors, 2 years in Practice, 2 year Masters, 2 more years in Practice, and a final year Post Graduate Diploma). It has taken a long time, and no, I haven’t always enjoyed it – but I made it through, and now I am what I am. It has opened doors and I am not looking back. I spent the latter part of my training looking at others who I had studied Architecture with, graduating before me, and thinking how much I wish I could be in their shoes… but if I were, then I would not be in the position I am now.

I guess what I am saying is, don’t measure against others… only against your own personal goals. And when an opportunity presents itself, FFS grab it and don’t let go! Forget the nagging concerns in the back of your head (mine was “Is it going to look bad on my CV if i…”) because guess what… It will all work out in the end. Each step is just practice for the next. I could list further cliches but I think you get the point.

         So… On to the next journey!

Leave a Reply

